Today is picture day! What does #adaywithHIV look like to you?

The AIDS Grove Just Renamed Its Youth Scholarship to Honor Pedro Zamora!

Zamora was an AIDS educator, activist and reality television star. At the age of 22, the HIV-positive gay Latino shared his journey with the virus on MTV’s The Real World 3: San Francisco. The show aired in 1994. The scholarship will honor his contributions 20 years after his passing.

High school seniors and college freshman, sophomores and juniors ages 27 and younger are eligible. They must demonstrate current public service and leadership roles in the HIV/AIDS fight. They also must intend to pursue a career that will have with a clear impact on the epidemic.

Applications are being accepted through Wednesday, October 15. Recipients will be announced Monday, December 1, which is World AIDS Day. Awards range from $2,500 to $5,000.

This year, POZ is celebrating HIV-positive & negative individuals under 30! We’re looking for young, unsung heroes who are making a difference in the fight against HIV/AIDS. Nominate yourself or someone you know.

The early deadline for nominations was August 8, 2014, but we’re still looking!

It is with great sadness that we acknowledge the death of Joep Lange on Malaysia Airlines flight 017. Joep was an extraordinary clinician, scientist, and humanitarian who fought ceaselessly for the rights of persons living with HIV/AIDS and to assure global access to antiretroviral therapy. Joep was a great friend of the ACTG—he chaired the review of the ACTG during a previous competitive renewal cycle and provided invaluable insights through formal and informal consultation that helped shape the current ACTG agenda. Many of us in the ACTG counted Joep and his partner, Jacqueline, as esteemed colleagues and cherished friends. The impact of their loss is immeasurable. We offer our deepest condolences to their families and colleagues, and we are committed to redouble our efforts to realizing the vision to which Joep had devoted his life.
Dr. Daniel Kuritzkes, AIDS Clinical Trials Group Network Chair (via actgnetwork)